Vishful thinking…

Project Directory Structure

Posted in .NET, Agile by viswaug on February 13, 2009

The directory structure that is used for projects could either make your life a whole lot easier or make it a pain when you are setting up your automated builds. Apart from being a crucial part of my automated build workflow, it also helps me makes sure that I can check out the project on a new machine and have the project be build-able right away both with the build script and in Visual Studio. Here is the project directory structure that I have been using for a while now. I have been very satisfied with it. Since I use the same project structure for all my projects, I can use a template build script that I can use right away by changing a couple of values in it.

What directory structure do you use for your projects? Thoughts? Suggestions?

ProjectDirectoryStructure

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Dylan said, on February 13, 2009 at 7:41 am

    Exactly the same one I use with the exception of tests. I typically put those in a subdirectory of src. I also always have a db folder that contains all of my sql scripts, bak files for spinning up a quick enterprise gdb, or whatever. But basically the same thing and I too appreciate the cut’n’paste build scripts.

  2. Frank said, on February 13, 2009 at 9:27 pm

    Speaking of dir structures, you might be interested in this tool:
    http://www.codeplex.com/treesurgeon

  3. […] Property Manager « Project Directory Structure […]

  4. Josh said, on April 14, 2009 at 10:00 pm

    Thanks for this post, I’m trying to get a directory structure nailed down. Where would you put an sql script directory? Also where would you put a SQL Server Reporting Services Report Project (composed of .rdl and .rds files)?


Leave a Reply

