Vishful thinking…

Google Maps API or the VirtualEarth API? From a developer’s viewpoint

Posted in Uncategorized by viswaug on December 16, 2008

I came across an interesting blog post by the Redfin developers about their experience with moving from the VirtualEarth API to the Google Maps API. That got me thinking about my experiences with both the APIs. I am not going to be talking about whose imagery looks better or has a higher resolution here. But, as a developer, I should say that I actually prefer the Google Maps API over the VirtualEarth API. For most cases, both the APIs are really to use and are comparable in their feature sets. But here are something in the Google Maps API that I miss in the VirtualEarth API.

Did I miss anything else either with the Google Maps API or the VirtualEarth API?